A Flat Place. Book by Nareen Masud

“I love flat landscapes more than any other. In 2021 and 2022, I travelled around some of Britain’s flattest landscapes – Cambridgeshire, Suffolk, Morecambe Bay, Orkney, Newcastle Moor – and I’m still not tired of them. Flat places continue to seduce me. Go to any beach when the tide is out, and you get a taste of their magnificence. You don’t need golden sands: mud will do perfectly. The point is to find that ruler-straight line of the horizon, cut with such confidence and swagger against the big sky. When I gaze at a flat space, a weight falls from me and energy rises up through my body. I feel utterly free in body and mind; I want to run and yell and cartwheel.” Noreen Masud 2024.

This is from this Guardian online article.

https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2024/jan/23/i-love-britains-flat-landscapes-norfolk-fens-lancashire-cambridgeshire-suffolk

The book can be seen here.

See on Amazon here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Owain Jones. Bookmark the permalink.

About Owain Jones

I am an emeritus professor of Environmental Humanities, Bath Spa University, UK. I trained as a cultural geographer and have published many academic articles and books on various aspects of place, landscape, memory, nature-society relations, and, specifically, on tides and tidal landscpes.

1 thought on “A Flat Place. Book by Nareen Masud

  1. Pingback: A Flat Place. Book by Nareen Masud - Graciesays

Leave a comment